Idle games

Place to discuss games of all types. tabletop games, video games, etc.
Gendo
Site Admin

Idle games

Post by Gendo »

Anyone here play any idle games? If you don't know, those are games where you make progress even when not playing, and you usually play over months or even years to just climb to higher and higher levels. Cookie Clicker was one of the first and maybe the most well-known.

I've been playing Trimps for the past 3 months. It's so ridiculously addicting. It benefits from active play a bit more than a lot of other games, which sometimes makes it hard to step away when you're suppose to go to work or bed or whatever. It's a really well done and balanced game that keeps things interesting as you get further. It also has a good community of people in the Kongregate chat room (except for that one spammer that I complained about in the other thread).
Raxivace
Ultimate Poster

Re: Idle games

Post by Raxivace »

I've played games with similar sounding sub-mechanics but never an outright one.
"[Cinema] is a labyrinth with a treacherous resemblance to reality." - Andrew Sarris
maz89
Ultra Poster

Post by maz89 »

Reminds me of that time when people couldn't stop playing Farmville.
"Clear eyes, full hearts, can't lose"
Gendo
Site Admin

Post by Gendo »

I never played Farmville, but pretty sure it fits into the same category/genre.
Anakin McFly
Ultimate Poster

Post by Anakin McFly »

There's also the kittens game: http://bloodrizer.ru/games/kittens/
Gendo
Site Admin

Post by Gendo »

Anakin McFly wrote:There's also the kittens game: http://bloodrizer.ru/games/kittens/
I hate you. [none]

Worth noting that games like A Dark Room and Candy Box are a sub-category of idle games; where they are played over days instead of months/years, and you can actually finish them.
Anakin McFly
Ultimate Poster

Post by Anakin McFly »

I've now been playing the kittens game for 30 hours. [none]