Resting heart rate

Cassius Clay
Ultimate Poster

Resting heart rate

Post by Cassius Clay »

I recently started playing a lot of one-on-one with a friend of mine. We used to play years ago, but haven't played in a while. I used to win most of the games back in the day, but now the tables seemed to have turned. And not because he's gotten so much better, but because he is in incredible shape(and partially because I developed a bit of a back issue over the years). I can't keep up with him. We might play up to 5 or 6 games, and I might win the first couple games, then lose the rest terribly because I can't keep up with his relentless energy.

So, I decided that I need to get in really good shape so I'll at least give myself a good chance of winning more games, and I started doing intense cardio workouts. I was in alright shape before I started the workouts(my resting heart rate was 66), and after about a month or so, my resting rate dropped to 56. And I was like, "fuck yes, now I'll get this bastard!". We met up to play some games and I still couldn't keep up with his energy(though I played much better). Then I finally asked him what his resting heart rate was, and he didn't even know what I was talking about. He checked it and it turns out it's 42. Forty-fucking-two...that's like Olympic athlete level. Wtf?

So, for the past month I increased the intensity of my cardio workouts just to keep up with this guy, but there hasn't been much of a change in my fitness and heart rate. How hard do I have to go to keep up, goddamit?
aels
Global Moderator

Re: Resting heart rate

Post by aels »

Is he dead. Is he actually like a vampire and his actual resting heart rate is zero and he's laughing at your puny mortal shell. Have you seen him in daylight.
WORDS IN THE HEART CANNOT BE TAKEN
Cassius Clay
Ultimate Poster

Post by Cassius Clay »

I have seen him in daylight. But, he looks a little like Wesley Snipes, so I wouldn't be surprised if he's a daywalker.
Blade Azaezel